Students, faculty, and staff must present a valid Cincinnati State ID card to check out materials. There is no limit to the numbers of books that may be checked out at one time. Most books are due in three weeks, and may be renewed up to six times, if no other user has requested the material in the meantime. You can renew your materials at this link.
Overdue notices will be sent to the patron's Cincinnati State e-mail account. E-mail notifications will also be sent when items placed on hold (either locally owned or OhioLINK items) are available. Courtesy e-mails will also inform patrons that items will be coming due in approximately 3 days. Please go to BLINK and choose "My Account" to check due dates, and to requests renewals. The Library does not charge overdue fines for most materials, but does charge for some high-demand items.
A replacement fee of at least $100 is charged for lost/destroyed/non-returned materials. Items which remain overdue for 20 days or longer are presumed lost and will be charged this replacement fee. This fee will be reduced to $25 per item when the items are returned.
Electronic resources such as periodical indexes and full-text periodicals, full-text electronic books, and electronic media collections are available for use by registered users on or off-campus. Additional informaiton is available for distance students. Reference books, serials, and most media programs must be used in the Library. Coin-operated photocopiers are available.
Materials on Reserve
Reserve materials are kept at the Circulation Desk, filed by course number. Length of loan varies.
Patrons can initiate their own interlibrary loan for many materials by clicking the "OhioLINK Central" button from any search in BLINK, and following the instructions. Patrons are limited to requesting ten OhioLINK items per day. E-mail notifications will also be sent when items requested through OhioLINK items are available for check-out. Most OhioLINK materials will be due in three weeks, and may be renewed up to four times, if there are no holds on the item. Some materials, particularly media programs, will be borrowed for a shorter period, and will not be renewable. The fine for overdue OhioLINK materials is $.50 per day per item. Overdue notices will be sent to the patron's Cincinnati State e-mail account. A replacement fee of at least $125 is charged for lost/destroyed/non-returned materials. This will be billed when the item is 30 days overdue. If you return an item which has been billed, you will be responsible for paying only a $50 late fee, and not the replacement cost.
Users from OhioLINK and SWON member libraries may obtain a Cincinnati State library card upon presentation of proper identification.
The Library provides computers with internet access to be used solely for accessing academic resources, and library staff is available to help users at these stations. Registered students can also check out laptop computers for use in the Library, with internet access provided via a wireless network. Internet use must comply with the College's "Policy for Responsible Use of Information Technology and Resources.”
Unattended children are not allowed in the Library. Security will be called when unattended child(ren) are in the Library for more than a few minutes. Security will take the child(ren) and locate the parent. Children are not permitted to use the Library's computers.
A parent using the Library for study or research, and accompanied by a child, will be asked to leave if the child is noisy or is causing any disruption.